Vettel snatch pole from Hamilton

on .

( 0 Votes )

Belgian Grand Prix, Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Spa - Qualifying - Result

It was one of the wettest Qualifying session. As always, wet means drama and uncertainty. So does world champion Sebastian Vettel always live to the reputation of being ahead.

Vettel grabbed his 9th pole of the season out of 12. Amazingly all 12 are being held by Red Bull drivers. Vettel rather snatched the pole position from Lewis Hamilton in the dying moment of the qualifying session.


As it went in Q3:

10min session was more than a piece of cake for Vettel. As all the drivers for the first time started on soft compound tyres during qualifying. Weather gives its way to settle the score between the honchos. There was a pure dry line on the track. All the drivers continued for 10mins without going for a pitstop. As the session started Massa and Petrov went into the gravel. But both avoided damage.

Again a strong performance from Webber put him in the front but just before the last min Vettel goes P1 only 1tenth of a second faster than Webber and Hamilton in P3 another 1tenth down. The battle for the top spot started with the last min rush to glory.

As did Webber crosses the line first then Hamilton. It became clear that Webber will be 3rd on the grid but who would have known that current champion will cover the ground and secured P1 on the desk.

Massa did his best in the Ferrari to qualify at 4th followed by Nico Rosberg in Mercedes. Jaime Alguersuari in the Toro Rosso set brilliant 6th position for the team. This being his best starting position on the grid.

Comeback boy, Bruno Senna, exceptionally performed by even out performing his teammate and qualifying 7th that nobody has ever imagined from him. Ayrton Senna nephew learned quickly the new car and adjusted himself well according to the situation.

Fernando Alonso qualified only 8th out-qualified by his teammate. Sergio Perez was 9th and Vitaly Petrov was 10th.


As it went in Q2:

As the session started on full wet with a rain shower. Drivers expected for a full wet session that was interrupted by Adrian Sutil accident. The session also involved deliberate clash by Maldonado to the Lewis Hamilton car at the end of the session which Hamilton survived with damage to the right side bodywork and front wing. Maldonado was handed five place grid penalty for that.

Sutil crashed just when 7mins were remaining into the session and where the drama begins. Sutil was running 5th when the crash knocked him out. All the drivers went into the intermediates to get a spot in Q3.

Q2 was difficult session for Alonso for whom it look that he will not be able to make it to Q3 for the moment. But he hold onto the car and finished the session at top in the end with 2min 02.768sec on board.

More drama came from Hamilton who could not compromise on his aggressive nature and went onto overtake Maldonado in the final corner in the final lap of Q2. Both the Williams of Maldonado and Barrichello were compromised on their final run by a slower car in front and Hamilton at back. But the drama keeps on building up as when Maldonado and Hamilton went into the start finish straight, Maldonado came from back into the side of Hamilton and hit him. This was mostly deliberate for which he was penalized for 5place grid penalty.

Sebastien Buemi was running a competitive lap time but in the end lost it by 3tenth of a second to start at 11th position followed by Kamui Kobayashi. The biggest disappointment came as Jenson Button was outqualified and will start the race in 13th. Rubens Barrichello in 14th. Adrian Sutil dropped to 15th after the accident. Pastor Maldonado starts in 16th while Kovalainen for Lotus outqualified Paul Di Resta of Force India in Q1 to start at 17th.


As it went in Q1:

As the Q1 started a storm of drivers went onto record the time as the atmosphere was clear at that moment and it was not raining for the moment. Intermediates on for the drivers.

Major Disappointment of Q1 came for the 7times world champion who is celebrating his 20th anniversary into the Formula One and will start the race in 24th. Schumacher car right rear wheel came off and he spun into the turn 8 before hitting the wall damaging the front nose. =

With more rain pore at the end of the session no better time was recorded and Button top the Q1 with 2min 01:813sec. 4drivers were not able to clear the 107%qualifying rule which was 2min 10:339sec including Michael Schumacher.

But later stewards allowed them to take part into the race.

First to knockout of the Q1 was Paul Di Resta who was knocked out in the dying moments by Heikki Kovalainen in Lotus followed by Jarno Trulli and Timo Glock. Jerome D'Ambrosio of Virgin and Both the HRT did not qualify for the 107%rule.

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3 Laps
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull - Renault 2min 03.029sec 2min 03.317sec 1min 48.298sec 22
2 Lewis Hamilton Mclaren - Mercedes 2min 03.008sec 2min 02.823sec 1min 48.730sec 21
3 Mark Webber Red Bull - Renault 2min 02.827sec 2min 03.302sec 1min 49.376sec 23
4 Felipe Massa Ferrari 2min 05.834sec 2min 04.507sec 1min 50.256sec 21
5 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP
2min 05.091sec 2min 03.723sec 1min 50.552sec 23
6 Jaime Alguersuari STR - Ferrari 2min 05.419sec 2min 04.561sec 1min 50.773sec 24
7 Bruno Senna Renault 2min 05.047sec 2min 04.452sec 1min 51.121sec 24
8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 2min 04.450sec 2min 02.768sec 1min 51.251sec 22
9 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 2min 06.284sec 2min 04.625sec 1min 51.374sec 24
Vitaly Petrov Renault 2min 05.292sec 2min 03.466sec 1min 52.303sec 23
11 Sebastien Buemi STR - Ferrari 2min 04.744sec 2min 04.692sec
12 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber - Ferrari 2min 07.194sec 2min 04.757sec
13 Jenson Button Mclaren - Mercedes 2min 01.813sec 2min 05.150sec
14 Rubens Barrichello Williams -Cosworth 2min 05.720sec 2min 07.349sec
15 Adrian Sutil Force India -Mercedes 2min 06.000sec 2min 07.777sec
Pastor Maldonado Williams -Cosworth 2min 05.621sec 2min 08.106sec
17 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 2min 06.780sec 2min 08.354sec
Paul Di Resta Force India -Mercedes 2min 07.758sec

19 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 2min 08.773sec

20 Timo Glock Virgin -Cosworth 2min 09.566sec

DNQ Jerome d'Ambrosio Virgin -Cosworth 2min 11.601sec

DNQ Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT - Cosworth 2min 11.616sec

DNQ Daniel Ricciardo HRT - Cosworth 2min 13.077sec

DNQ Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP No Time


107% Qualifying Time was 2min 10.339sec.

However stewards allowed all the four drivers to participate in the race.

*Pastor Maldonado was handed a Five Place Grid Penalty for causing a deliberate accident with Lewis Hamilton.

Add comment

Security code

F1 Statistics

23-25 November, 2012

Practice 1 : Result

Practice 2 : Result

Practice 3 : Result

Qualifying : Result

Race : Result

1 Sebastian Vettel 281
2 Fernando Alonso 278
3 Kimi Räikkönen 207
4 Lewis Hamilton 190
5 Jenson Button 188
6 Mark Webber 179
7 Felipe Massa 122
8 Romain Grosjean 96
9 Nico Rosberg 93
10 Sergio Perez 66
Full Table

1 Red Bull Racing - Renault 460
2 Ferrari 400
3 Mclaren - Mercedes 378
4 Lotus - Renault 303
5 Mercedes 142
6 Sauber - Ferrari 126
7 Force India - Mercedes 109
8 Williams - Renault 76
9 STR - Ferrari 26
10 Marussia-Cosworth 0
Full Table