Sauber accepts disqualification in Australia GP

on .

( 0 Votes )

After an impressive performance by Sauber Drivers - Rookie Sergio Perez and Kamui Kobayashi in the Australian GP, there cars were disqualified in the post race check due to technical infringement in rear wings rule and they were stripped off their 7th and 8th position respectively.

Click to follow the News related to Sauber Disqualification

Click to follow the News related to Australian GP Modified Result and Point Tally


Sauber Technical Director James Key earlier announced that they will going to appeal against the Stewards Decision.

But, on 29th March, Sauber team announced that they won't appeal the disqualification of Sergio Perez and Kamui Kobayashi from the Australian Grand Prix after accepting that their cars broke technical rules.

Sauber's technical director, James Key, says the team accepts it made an "error in the checking process" and has put measures in place to ensure the mistake won't be repeated.

The internal investigation showed the team had made a mistake with rear wing measurements.

"We have since found that there was an error in the checking process for the relevant dimension on this component," said Sauber's technical director James Key in a statement.

"We have already put measures in place to ensure that nothing of this kind occurs again in the future."


What would have been a exceptional start for the team Sauber with 10points and 5th in the constructors was vanished with the outcome. Also, The 21-year-old Rookie Driver Sergio Perez would have become the first Mexican to score championship points in 30 years.

The outcome ensured that Force India will be having a double point finish for the team as Adrian Sutil and Paul Di Resta are elevated to 9th and 10th respectively.

This made, Paul Di Resta the only debutant out of the four to score point on the opening season race.

Felipe Massa moved to 7th while Sebastien Buemi to 8th are the other two drivers who have been benefited from Sauber disqualification in terms of point tally.


Add comment

Security code

F1 Statistics

23-25 November, 2012

Practice 1 : Result

Practice 2 : Result

Practice 3 : Result

Qualifying : Result

Race : Result

1 Sebastian Vettel 281
2 Fernando Alonso 278
3 Kimi Räikkönen 207
4 Lewis Hamilton 190
5 Jenson Button 188
6 Mark Webber 179
7 Felipe Massa 122
8 Romain Grosjean 96
9 Nico Rosberg 93
10 Sergio Perez 66
Full Table

1 Red Bull Racing - Renault 460
2 Ferrari 400
3 Mclaren - Mercedes 378
4 Lotus - Renault 303
5 Mercedes 142
6 Sauber - Ferrari 126
7 Force India - Mercedes 109
8 Williams - Renault 76
9 STR - Ferrari 26
10 Marussia-Cosworth 0
Full Table