Whiting impressed by Buddh International Circuit - FIA completes homologation

on .

( 1 Vote )

First Ever Indian Grand Prix at our door step - Cleared from the Homologation.

Finally, the news that millions of Indians were waiting to hear. Yes its true, The Formula 1 Dream of India became a reality all of a sudden with FIA clearing the homologation and giving it a Green Flag.

FIA Inspector and Formula One Race Director Charlie Whiting visited the Buddh International Circuit on thursday for their scheduled inspection process as on September 1, 2011.  He was overwhelmed by the tremendous circuit advancement and progress.

Whiting says progress at BIC is 'beyond expectations' as quoted by Vicky Chandhok, father of Karun Chandhok and head of the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India, who was there along with Charlie on Thursday during inspection.

"He [Whiting] stated that the progress was more than satisfactory and exceeded expectations from when he last visited the site," Chandhok said.

“I think we can expect a really interesting and fast track which should be not only quite a challenge for drivers and engineers, but should also provide a number of genuine overtaking opportunities," Whiting told the Times of India this week.

So, The First Ever Indian Grand Prix will be held on Oct 28th - 30th, 2011. This means that the Airtel Indian Grand Prix is Officially Ready for conducting a Formula 1 race.

Physical issuance of Grade-1 Certification will happen one week prior to the event, as a common practice for new circuits that is BIC is expected to undergo its mandatory final FIA inspection in the week prior to the event.

The Tickets for the Event is up on Sale.


Lets Start Racing...

Add comment

Security code

F1 Statistics

23-25 November, 2012

Practice 1 : Result

Practice 2 : Result

Practice 3 : Result

Qualifying : Result

Race : Result

1 Sebastian Vettel 281
2 Fernando Alonso 278
3 Kimi Räikkönen 207
4 Lewis Hamilton 190
5 Jenson Button 188
6 Mark Webber 179
7 Felipe Massa 122
8 Romain Grosjean 96
9 Nico Rosberg 93
10 Sergio Perez 66
Full Table

1 Red Bull Racing - Renault 460
2 Ferrari 400
3 Mclaren - Mercedes 378
4 Lotus - Renault 303
5 Mercedes 142
6 Sauber - Ferrari 126
7 Force India - Mercedes 109
8 Williams - Renault 76
9 STR - Ferrari 26
10 Marussia-Cosworth 0
Full Table